Loistrofi

 ·  Independent

Online rent collection: who pays the fee, and what it costs per unit per year

ACH rent collection costs you between nothing and $28.20 per unit per year depending on the plan you sit on. Cards cost 2.95% to 3.50% of rent, which on a $1,500 rent is over $500 per unit per year.

Loistrofi EditorialSep 3, 20269 min read

Online rent collection: who pays the fee, and what it costs per unit per year

On a 10-unit portfolio collecting rent by bank transfer, the payment fee costs you between $0 and $28.20 per unit per year. Rentec Direct's Pro plan includes one free incoming ACH per active property per month. TenantCloud bills its ACH fee to the tenant, at $1.95, $1.75 or $1.50 per payment depending on plan. Buildium charges you $2.35, $1.35 or $0.60 per incoming EFT, again by plan. Cards are a different order of magnitude.

Who pays matters as much as how much. Rentec Direct states card fees "can be paid by the tenant or manager (your choice)". TenantCloud's published ACH rates are marked "paid by a tenant". Buildium's page lists its EFT and card rates without saying who bears them, so treat those as your cost until someone at Buildium tells you otherwise in writing.

Count payments, not units

Every vendor here prices online payments per transaction, not per unit. So the number you need before you compare anything is not your unit count — it's your annual payment count. Ten units on 12-month leases, each paying once a month, is 120 incoming transactions a year. That is the number that multiplies against $2.35 or $1.35 or $0.50. Multiply it wrong and you will pick the wrong plan by several hundred dollars.

Then adjust for the things that split a rent payment into two or three transactions: roommates who each pay their share separately, tenants who pay half on the 1st and half on the 15th, and separate payments for late fees, pet rent or utility reimbursements. A four-bedroom student house where everyone pays their own share is 48 transactions a year, not 12. On Buildium Essential at $2.35 each, that single house costs $112.80 a year to collect from.

Add the outgoing side if you pay owners

If you manage on behalf of owners, money leaves as well as arrives, and outgoing transfers are priced separately. Buildium charges $0.99 per outgoing EFT on all three plans — Essential, Growth and Premium. Twelve owner distributions a year across five owners is 60 outgoing transfers, or $59.40. Rentec Direct lists outgoing ACH at $2.00 on Starter and free on Pro and PM. Rentec also charges $0.50 for ACH Verify, one time per new bank account added, so ten new tenant accounts is a one-off $5.

What 120 rent payments cost on each plan

PlanSubscription, 12 monthsACH/EFT on 120 paymentsCard rateYour year-1 totalPer unit / year
Rentec Starter$300 ($25/mo, up to 10 properties)$240 ($2.00 each)3.50%$540$54.00
Rentec Pro$540 (annual, from $50/mo list)$0 within fair usage2.95%$540$54.00
TenantCloud Starter$180 (annual)$234, paid by your tenantsnot published$180$18.00
TenantCloud Growth$350 (annual)$210, paid by your tenantsnot published$350$35.00
TenantCloud Pro$600 (annual)$180, paid by your tenantsnot published$600$60.00
Buildium Essential$744 (from $62/mo)$282 ($2.35 each)2.99%$1,125 incl. $99 bank setup$112.50
Buildium Growth$2,304 (from $192/mo)$162 ($1.35 each)2.99%$2,466$246.60
Buildium Premium$4,800 (from $400/mo)$0 for first 12 months2.99%$4,800$480.00

Assumptions, so you can redo this with your own numbers: 10 units, one ACH rent payment per unit per month, 120 payments a year, no card payments, no owner distributions. Buildium's monthly figures are the published "starting at" prices, and its page does not say how they scale with unit count — so treat the Buildium column as a floor, not a quote. Rentec Pro's $540 assumes annual billing ($50/mo list, less the $60 annual saving the page advertises).

Buildium: pick the plan by its EFT fee, then check the subscription

Buildium's three plans move the incoming EFT fee in big steps: $2.35 on Essential, $1.35 on Growth, and free for 12 months then $0.60 on Premium. At 120 payments a year that is $282, $162 and $72 respectively. The saving from Essential to Growth is $120 a year in transaction fees — against a subscription difference of at least $1,560 a year ($192 minus $62, times 12). You do not upgrade Buildium plans to save on payment fees. You upgrade for the features, and the fee drop is a rounding error.

Two Buildium line items catch small portfolios. Bank account setup is $99 per business bank account on Essential, which for a manager running one operating account and one trust account is $198 before a single payment clears. Growth includes 10 free business bank accounts and Premium includes 100. And Premium's free EFT is a 12-month promotion: from month 13 you pay $0.60 per incoming transfer, so your year-two run rate at 120 payments is $4,872 rather than $4,800.

Rentec Direct: free ACH, but only one per property per month

Rentec's free incoming ACH on Pro and PM comes with a stated fair-usage rule: one free incoming ACH per active property each month, with excess payments at $0.50 each. For a portfolio where one tenant pays one rent, that is genuinely free — 120 payments, $0. For a portfolio of shared houses it is not. Three roommates paying separately on 10 properties is 360 transactions a year: 120 free, 240 at $0.50, or $120 a year. Still cheap, but not zero.

Rentec Starter is a flat $25/mo for up to 10 properties and tenants, with ACH at $2.00 per incoming payment. At 120 payments that is $300 plus $240, or $540 a year — the same total as Rentec Pro on annual billing, where ACH is free. Two things push you to Pro anyway: the page says Pro and PM "grow with you as you add more units", so 10 units may already price above $50/mo, and it also says an account upgraded to Pro or PM cannot be downgraded to Starter.

On cards, Rentec is the only vendor here that publishes a split by plan: 3.50% on Starter, 2.95% on Pro and PM for Visa, Mastercard and Discover, and 3.50% for American Express on every plan. If your residents are card payers, that 0.55-point gap between Starter and Pro is worth $99 a year on $18,000 of collected rent.

TenantCloud: your tenants pay the ACH fee

TenantCloud is the only one of the three whose ACH rate is explicitly marked as paid by the tenant: $1.95, $1.75 and $1.50 per payment down the three published plan tiers. Your cost is the subscription and nothing else. On annual billing that is $180 a year on Starter ($15/mo), $350 on Growth ($29.17/mo), and $600 on Pro ($50/mo). Ten units on Starter costs you $18 per unit per year all in, while your tenants collectively pay $234.

The Business plan starts at $100/mo with custom ACH pricing, and TenantCloud says the final price depends on unit count and which premium features you pick. That is a quote, not a price. Do not budget against $1,200 a year until you have it in writing.

If anyone pays by card, that's the whole budget

Percentage fees are what actually decide this. On a $1,500 monthly rent, 2.99% is $44.85 per payment, or $538.20 per unit per year. At Rentec's 2.95% it is $531; at 3.50% it is $630. Ten units all paying by card at 2.99% is $5,382 a year — more than the highest subscription on this page. Whichever platform you choose, the decision that moves real money is whether card fees land on you or on the resident, and whether you allow cards at all.

So build your estimate in two layers. Layer one is the fixed cost: subscription plus flat ACH fees, which for 10 units lands between $180 and $4,800 a year across these vendors. Layer two is the card exposure, which is a function of your rent roll and your convenience-fee policy, not of the software. A platform that saves you $120 a year on ACH and quietly puts 2.99% on your side of the ledger is the more expensive platform.

Which one to pick

If you have 10 or fewer properties, everyone pays by bank transfer, and you want the smallest number on your own P&L, pick TenantCloud Starter at $180 a year, because the $1.95 ACH fee is charged to the tenant and your cost per unit per year is $18.

If your tenants are shared-house residents who each pay separately, pick a per-transaction plan you can model rather than a "free" one — Rentec Pro's free ACH covers one payment per property per month and charges $0.50 beyond that, so 360 payments a year on 10 properties costs $120, not $0.

If you manage on behalf of owners and need trust accounting, pick Rentec PM from $50/mo, because outgoing ACH is free on PM against Buildium's $0.99 per outgoing EFT, and because a 60-distribution year on Buildium adds $59.40 before you count the $99-per-bank-account setup.

If you are choosing Buildium, choose it for the platform and accept the payment fees as they are. Essential at $62/mo plus $2.35 per incoming EFT plus $99 per bank account is $1,125 in year one for 10 units — nine times TenantCloud's cost to you — and the cheaper EFT rates on Growth and Premium never repay their subscription gap at this size.

If more than a third of your residents insist on cards and you are absorbing the fee, do not pick on subscription at all: pick the lowest published card rate you can get, which here is Rentec Pro or PM at 2.95%, and put a card policy in your lease renewals this year.

What to check before you pay

- Ask each vendor, in writing, who is permitted to pay the ACH and card fee on your plan — Buildium's page lists rates without naming the payer, and your state may restrict passing card fees to residents.

- Get a unit-count quote from Buildium and from Rentec's on-page calculator before comparing, since Buildium's $62/$192/$400 are "starting at" figures and Rentec Pro/PM "grow with you as you add more units".

- Confirm how a split rent payment is counted: two roommates paying separately on one property, and whether the second one is a billable transaction or covered by Rentec's one-free-per-property fair usage.

- Count your bank accounts and multiply by Buildium's $99 setup fee on Essential — operating plus trust plus a reserve account is $297 before you collect anything.

- Ask what a returned or failed payment costs. None of the three pricing pages we read stated an NSF or returned-ACH fee; Rentec points to a separate pricing transparency page for incidental bank fees.

- Diary the Buildium Premium anniversary if you go that route: incoming EFT is free for 12 months, then $0.60 each, which is $72 a year at 120 payments.

What we'd do

For a 10-unit portfolio where rent arrives by bank transfer, we would take TenantCloud Starter at $180 a year and let the tenant-paid $1.95 ACH fee do its job. $18 per unit per year is the lowest verified cost to you on this page by a wide margin, and rent collection is the one job every tier of every one of these products already does.

The moment you are collecting for third-party owners, we would switch to Rentec PM from $50/mo, because free incoming and outgoing ACH plus trust accounting removes the two fees that scale fastest — per-payment collection and per-distribution payout. And we would only reach for Buildium when the maintenance, inspections and API features are the reason for the purchase, since at 10 units you are paying $1,125 in year one for a payment rail you can rent for $180.

How we researched this

Loistrofi does not take vendor briefings or speak to sales teams. Every figure here comes from a page the vendor publishes itself, checked on Sep 3, 2026. Where a number could not be confirmed at source, it is marked rather than smoothed over.

What we could not verify

  • All three pricing pages loaded today; no source page was unreadable.
  • Buildium's $62, $192 and $400 monthly prices are published as "starting at" figures, and the page does not state how the subscription scales with unit count or whether a minimum unit count applies, so we could not confirm the actual monthly price for a 10-unit portfolio.
  • Buildium's page does not state whether the 2.99% card fee or the incoming EFT fee can be passed on to residents, so we could not confirm who is permitted to pay it.
  • Buildium does not publish an annual billing option or annual discount on the page we read.
  • Rentec Direct states that Pro and PM "start at $50 per month and grow with you as you add more units" but does not publish the per-unit scale on this page; we did not run the on-page price calculator, so the $50 figure should be treated as a floor.
  • Rentec Direct's fair-usage rule of one free incoming ACH per active property per month does not say whether roommate split payments or partial payments each count as separate transactions.
  • TenantCloud's page shows the Starter monthly rate as both $18/mo and $25/mo in different sections; only the annual price of $180/yr is stated consistently.
  • TenantCloud does not publish a credit card processing rate, so we could not confirm whether card rent payments are supported or at what cost.
  • TenantCloud's ACH rates of $1.95, $1.75 and $1.50 appear in a column layout; the mapping to the Starter, Growth and Pro plans follows the order of the columns and is not spelled out in the text we read.
  • None of the three pages we read published a returned-payment, failed-ACH or NSF fee. Rentec Direct refers to a separate pricing transparency page for incidental bank fees, which we did not open today.
  • We could not confirm whether TenantCloud plans cap the number of units or properties, unlike Rentec Starter, which states up to 10 properties and tenants.
Common questions
Who pays the fee when a tenant pays rent online?
It depends on the vendor and the payment type. TenantCloud's published ACH rates of $1.95, $1.75 and $1.50 per payment are marked "paid by a tenant". Rentec Direct says card fees "can be paid by the tenant or manager (your choice)" and lists ACH as free on Pro and PM within fair usage. Buildium publishes its EFT and 2.99% card rates without stating who bears them, so assume they are yours until Buildium confirms otherwise in writing.
Is ACH rent collection ever actually free?
Rentec Direct includes free incoming ACH on its Pro and PM plans, with a stated fair-usage limit of one free incoming ACH per active property per month; payments beyond that are $0.50 each. Buildium Premium gives free incoming EFT for the first 12 months and then charges $0.60 per transaction. TenantCloud never charges you for ACH, but the tenant pays $1.50 to $1.95 per payment. "Free" always has either a usage cap, an expiry date, or a payer other than you.
How much do credit card rent payments cost per year?
Take the rate times the annual rent. On a $1,500 monthly rent, Buildium's 2.99% is $44.85 a month or $538.20 per unit per year. Rentec Pro and PM at 2.95% works out to $44.25 a month, $531 a year. Rentec Starter and American Express on any Rentec plan are 3.50%, which is $52.50 a month or $630 a year. Ten units all paying by card at 2.99% is $5,382 a year — more than any subscription compared here.
What is the cheapest way to collect rent from 10 units?
On the published figures, TenantCloud Starter at $180 a year billed annually, because ACH is charged to the tenant at $1.95 per payment. That is $18 per unit per year on your side. Rentec Starter and Rentec Pro both come to about $540 a year at 120 ACH payments — Starter as $300 subscription plus $240 in fees, Pro as $540 annual subscription with free ACH. Buildium Essential is $1,125 in year one including the $99 bank account setup fee.
Does Buildium charge per unit for online payments?
No — Buildium's published payment fees are per transaction, not per unit: $2.35 per incoming EFT on Essential, $1.35 on Growth, and free for 12 months then $0.60 on Premium, with outgoing EFT at $0.99 and cards at 2.99% on all three plans. The subscription prices of $62, $192 and $400 a month are listed as "starting at", and the page does not publish how they scale with unit count, so get a quote for your portfolio size.
How do I annualise a per-transaction rent fee?
Multiply the fee by the number of payments you actually receive, not by your unit count. Ten units paying once a month is 120 payments a year: at $2.35 that is $282, at $1.35 it is $162, at $2.00 it is $240, at $0.60 it is $72. Then add any transaction that arrives separately — roommate splits, half payments, late fees — because each one is billable. A four-bedroom house where all four pay separately is 48 transactions a year, not 12.
Should I upgrade plans to get cheaper ACH fees?
Rarely at small scale. Moving from Buildium Essential to Growth cuts incoming EFT from $2.35 to $1.35, saving $120 a year at 120 payments, against a subscription increase of at least $1,560 a year. Buildium Premium's free-then-$0.60 EFT saves $210 a year against Essential while costing $4,056 more in subscription. Upgrade for the features — eSignature, inspections, priority support, extra bank accounts — and treat the lower transaction rate as a side effect.
Keep Reading