Loistrofi

 ·  Independent

Tenant screening fees inside property software: $10 to $40 per applicant

Rentec Direct's screening price swings from $10 to $29.45 depending on which subscription you're on. Hemlane charges a flat $40 paid by the tenant. TenantCloud doesn't publish a screening fee at all.

Loistrofi EditorialSep 4, 20269 min read

Tenant screening fees inside property software: $10 to $40 per applicant

Rentec Direct's premium screen — TransUnion credit report and score, national criminal, national eviction — is $18 if you're on Pro or PM and $29.45 if you're on Starter. Hemlane charges $40 total, paid by the tenant, in a single bundle. TenantCloud's pricing page lists no screening fee. That $11.45 gap between Rentec tiers is the number to work with first.

Count applicants, not doors

Every other line on a property software invoice is priced per unit or per month. Screening isn't. It's priced per report pulled, and the thing that triggers a report is an adult human filling out an application — which means your real annual screening cost is driven by turnover and by how many adults sign each lease, not by how many properties you own. Two roommates and a co-signer on one three-bedroom is three screens. A ten-door portfolio that never turns over is zero.

So before you compare a single price, write down two numbers: how many leases you expect to turn over in the next twelve months, and the average number of adult applicants per lease. Multiply them. Six turnovers at 1.8 adults each is roughly eleven screens a year. Eleven screens is what you're actually shopping for. Neither Rentec's nor Hemlane's pricing page states explicitly whether the quoted fee covers one adult or one whole application, and that single ambiguity can double your number — put it on your list to confirm.

The second thing to settle early: who pays. Hemlane's pricing page is unambiguous that the $40 is paid by the tenant. Rentec's page lists the screening packages as line-item costs without saying who bears them. If your applicants pay, the screening fee is a friction cost on your applicant pool rather than a line on your P&L, and the difference between $18 and $40 matters to you for different reasons — it affects how many people finish your application, not your margin.

What's actually in each package

Rentec itemises three tiers and tells you what's in them. Basic is nationwide criminal, sex offender, and SSN validation. Enhanced is Basic plus a nationwide eviction search. Premium is Enhanced plus a TransUnion credit report and credit score. That's the only place across these three vendors where a bureau is named on the pricing page, and it's the reason Basic looks cheap: at $10 or $14.95 there is no credit file in it at all. If you're used to a standalone report that leads with a score, Basic is not that product.

Hemlane lists one screening bundle at $40 and describes it under Applicant Tracking as a proprietary screening questionnaire, income verification, and tenant risk analysis. Those are three real things, but none of them is a credit report, a criminal search, or an eviction search by name. Whether the $40 includes bureau data at all isn't stated on the pricing page. TenantCloud's pricing page doesn't mention a screening fee or a screening product in the material we could read — you'd be budgeting for it blind.

The prices side by side

Vendor and planPackagePrice per screenReports named on the page
Rentec Starter ($25/mo)Basic$14.95Nationwide criminal, sex offender, SSN validation
Rentec StarterEnhanced$20.95Basic plus nationwide eviction search
Rentec StarterPremium$29.45Enhanced plus TransUnion credit report and score
Rentec Pro or PM ($50/mo)Basic$10.00Nationwide criminal, sex offender, SSN validation
Rentec Pro or PMEnhanced$13.00Basic plus nationwide eviction search
Rentec Pro or PMPremium$18.00Enhanced plus TransUnion credit report and score
Hemlane Basic ($30/mo and up)Single bundle$40, paid by tenantScreening questionnaire, income verification, risk analysis
TenantCloud Starter ($15/mo annual)Not publishedNot publishedNot published

Don't upgrade your plan to get the cheaper screen

The screening discount for being on Rentec Pro or PM is real — $11.45 per premium screen, $10.95 on Enhanced, $4.95 on Basic. But the subscription gap is $50 minus $25, or $25 a month, which is $300 a year at monthly billing. To recover $300 on premium screens alone at $11.45 saved each, you'd need to run 27 screens in a year. Rentec Starter tops out at 10 properties and tenants. Twenty-seven premium screens on ten doors means near-total annual turnover across the whole portfolio, twice over in some units.

The other Rentec figures that move your all-in number: Starter pays $2 per incoming ACH while Pro and PM get one free incoming ACH per active property per month with excess at $0.50 each. Pro and PM billed annually save $60, so $50 × 12 = $600 becomes $540 a year. Card processing is 3.50% on Starter and 2.95% on Pro and PM for Visa, Mastercard and Discover, with Amex at 3.50% on both. Those gaps compound monthly; the screening gap only fires on turnover.

Hemlane: the $40 is fixed, the subscription isn't

Hemlane prices per unit on top of a platform fee. Basic is $2 per unit and shows as $30/mo including a $28 platform fee — so for five units you're at $28 + (5 × $2) = $38/mo. Essential at $20 per unit is $28 + (5 × $20) = $128/mo for five. Complete at $58 per unit is $28 + (5 × $58) = $318/mo. The free Starter tier is $0 forever. Screening sits at $40 regardless of which tier you're on, and the tenant pays it.

For a landlord running four screens a year on two units, Hemlane Basic works out at $28 + $4 = $32/mo, or $384 a year, with $160 of screening cost sitting entirely on applicants rather than on you. That is a genuinely different economic shape from Rentec, where the screening line is quoted to you. Two other Hemlane fees to keep in view: premium listing to seven exclusive sites is $89 for 30 days, and full tenant placement starts at $695 including the lockbox fee.

TenantCloud: budget the screening separately

What TenantCloud publishes is plan pricing: Starter at $18/mo monthly or $15/mo billed annually ($180/yr), Growth at $35/mo or $29.17/mo annually ($350/yr), Pro at $60/mo or $50/mo annually ($600/yr), and a custom Business plan starting at $100/mo. Tenant-paid ACH runs $1.95, $1.75 and $1.50 as you move up the tiers. No screening fee appears. If TenantCloud is otherwise your pick, treat screening as an unpriced line item and get it in writing before you commit to an annual term.

When going direct is worth the extra step

We did not fetch any standalone screening provider's pricing page today, so there is no direct-provider number in this guide to compare against — and we're not going to invent one. What we can give you is the benchmark to test them with. Take your platform's premium equivalent — $18 on Rentec Pro, $29.45 on Rentec Starter, $40 through Hemlane — and ask any standalone provider for its per-applicant price for the same three components: a credit report with a score, a national criminal search, and a national eviction search.

Then price the friction, because that's where the bundle earns its margin. A standalone report that arrives as a PDF in your email has to be read, stored, and matched to an application by hand, and the applicant has to complete a second identity flow outside your software. A screen ordered inside the platform attaches itself to the application record. If a standalone provider comes in $8 cheaper and you run eleven screens a year, you're deciding whether $88 is worth doing that work eleven times.

Which one to pick

- If you have ten doors or fewer and you screen fewer than twenty-five applicants a year, pick Rentec Starter at $25/mo and pay $29.45 for the premium screen — the Pro upgrade costs more in subscription than it returns in screening discounts at your volume.

- If you're already paying for Rentec Pro or PM at $50/mo, pick the $18 premium package and stop shopping — it's the cheapest named-bureau credit-plus-criminal-plus-eviction report across everything we could price today.

- If you want the screening cost off your books entirely, pick Hemlane, because the $40 is stated on the pricing page as paid by the tenant, and Basic starts at $28 + $2 per unit.

- If you only ever need a criminal and sex offender check without a credit pull — short-term rentals, or a market where you decide on income documents — pick Rentec's Basic package at $10 on Pro or $14.95 on Starter, and don't pay for a score you won't read.

- If TenantCloud's plan features are what you actually want, don't sign an annual term until someone gives you the screening price in writing, because the pricing page doesn't carry one.

Check these before you pay

- Ask whether the quoted fee is per adult applicant or per application, for both Rentec's packages and Hemlane's $40 — neither pricing page states it, and roommates double your cost if it's per adult.

- Confirm on Rentec's pricing transparency page, linked from its pricing page, that no screening-related fee sits outside the three package prices.

- Ask Hemlane in writing which bureau or data sources sit behind the $40 bundle and whether a credit score, criminal search, and eviction search are included — the page names only a questionnaire, income verification, and risk analysis.

- Confirm whether Hemlane's annual billing discount, advertised as up to 20%, changes the $30, $48 and $86 monthly figures, and whether there's a unit minimum under the $28 platform fee.

- Check your state and city application fee caps against the number you plan to charge applicants, especially before passing through a $40 fee.

- Ask whether the applicant or you receive the report, and whether the platform generates adverse action documentation when you decline someone.

What we'd do

If you're already on Rentec Pro or PM, run the $18 premium package and don't look further — it names TransUnion, it includes the eviction search, and nothing else here undercuts it on a like-for-like report. If you're a small landlord starting fresh, Rentec Starter at $25/mo with $29.45 premium screens is the honest choice: you know exactly which four reports you're getting, which is worth more than a few dollars saved on an unspecified bundle.

Hemlane is the pick when your priority is keeping screening cost off your own ledger and your unit count is low — $28 plus $2 a unit on Basic is the cheapest software line here, and the $40 lands on the applicant. But go in knowing you're buying a bundle whose report contents aren't spelled out. TenantCloud we'd hold off on for screening specifically, not because it's expensive, but because we couldn't find a price to judge.

How we researched this

Loistrofi does not take vendor briefings or speak to sales teams. Every figure here comes from a page the vendor publishes itself, checked on Sep 4, 2026. Where a number could not be confirmed at source, it is marked rather than smoothed over.

What we could not verify

  • We did not fetch any standalone tenant screening provider's pricing page today, so this guide contains no direct-provider prices to compare against the bundled fees.
  • Rentec Direct's pricing page does not state whether the screening fee is charged per adult applicant or per application, or whether it can be passed through to the applicant.
  • Rentec Direct's linked pricing transparency page was referenced on the pricing page but was not fetched or read today.
  • Hemlane's pricing page states screening is $40 total paid by the tenant, but does not say whether that covers one adult or an entire application with multiple applicants.
  • Hemlane does not name the credit bureau or data sources behind its $40 screening bundle, and does not state whether a credit report, credit score, criminal search or eviction search is included.
  • Hemlane advertises savings of up to 20% with annual billing, but we could not confirm what the Basic, Essential and Complete tiers cost per month under annual billing.
  • Whether Hemlane applies a unit minimum, or how the $28 platform fee behaves at high unit counts, is not stated on the page we read.
  • TenantCloud's pricing page publishes no tenant screening fee and no description of which reports a screening would include.
  • TenantCloud's pricing page shows the Starter plan at $18/mo monthly in one block and $25/mo monthly in another; we could not resolve which figure is current.
  • We could not confirm whether any of these platforms generate adverse action notices or store screening results against the application record.
  • State and local caps on tenant application fees were not verified and vary by jurisdiction.
Common questions
How much does tenant screening cost through Rentec Direct?
It depends on your subscription. Rentec Pro and PM subscribers pay $10 for the Basic package, $13 for Enhanced, and $18 for Premium. Rentec Starter subscribers pay $14.95, $20.95, and $29.45 for the same three packages. Basic covers nationwide criminal, sex offender and SSN validation; Enhanced adds a nationwide eviction search; Premium adds a TransUnion credit report and credit score. Rentec describes Premium as its most popular package.
Does Hemlane charge landlords for tenant screening?
Hemlane's pricing page states that tenant screening is $40 total, paid by the tenant, across its plans. The Applicant Tracking section lists a proprietary screening questionnaire, income verification, and tenant risk analysis. The page does not state whether a credit report, credit score, criminal search or eviction search is included in that $40, and it does not name a credit bureau — confirm both with Hemlane before you rely on it as your only screen.
Is it worth upgrading to Rentec Pro just for cheaper screening?
Almost never. The premium package saves $11.45 per screen on Pro versus Starter ($18 against $29.45), but Pro costs $50/mo against Starter's $25/mo — a $300 annual gap at monthly billing. You'd need 27 premium screens a year to break even on the screening discount alone. Rentec Starter is capped at 10 properties and tenants, so that volume is unrealistic. Upgrade for accounting, API access, bank sync, or the free incoming ACH instead.
What does TenantCloud charge for tenant screening?
TenantCloud's pricing page does not publish a tenant screening fee, and it does not list which reports a screening would include. What it does publish is plan pricing: Starter at $15/mo billed annually ($180/yr), Growth at $29.17/mo annually ($350/yr), Pro at $50/mo annually ($600/yr), and a custom Business plan starting at $100/mo. If screening is central to your workflow, get the fee and the report contents in writing before committing to an annual term.
Which screening package includes a credit score?
Among the packages we could price, only Rentec Direct's Premium package explicitly includes a credit report and credit score, sourced from TransUnion. It costs $18 for Rentec Pro and PM subscribers and $29.45 for Rentec Starter subscribers, and also includes nationwide criminal, sex offender, SSN validation and a nationwide eviction search. Rentec's Basic and Enhanced packages contain no credit file. Hemlane's $40 bundle does not name a credit report or bureau on its pricing page.
Is bundled screening cheaper than using a standalone provider?
We could not verify any standalone provider's current pricing today, so we won't quote one. Use the platform numbers as your benchmark: $18 on Rentec Pro or PM, $29.45 on Rentec Starter, and $40 through Hemlane for a full package. Ask a standalone provider for its per-applicant price covering a credit report with score, a national criminal search, and a national eviction search, then weigh any savings against re-keying results into your software manually.
How many screening reports will I actually pay for in a year?
Multiply your expected lease turnovers by the average number of adult applicants per lease. Six turnovers at 1.8 adults each is about eleven screens. At Rentec Pro's $18 premium rate that's $198 a year; at Rentec Starter's $29.45 it's $323.95. Neither Rentec's nor Hemlane's pricing page states clearly whether the quoted fee is charged per adult applicant or per application, so confirm that before you build a budget on it.
Keep Reading