Loistrofi

 ·  Independent

The cheapest practice software for a solo therapist: $45/mo, and what the cheap tiers leave out

Three vendors, three entry tiers, and one of them quietly caps you at 20 appointments a month and refuses to sell you insurance billing at all. Here is what each cheapest plan costs in year one and year two.

Loistrofi EditorialSep 2, 20268 min read

The cheapest practice software for a solo therapist: $45/mo, and what the cheap tiers leave out

Cliniko is the cheapest at $45 a month for one practitioner, all features included. SimplePractice Starter is $49 a month, discounted to $24.50 for the first three months. Jane's $54 Balance plan is close on paper but limits you to 20 appointments a month and cannot take the Insurance Billing add-on at all. If you file claims, your real floor is higher.

Count what the vendor counts before you compare

All three price on the practitioner, not the login — but they draw the line differently, and that matters even when you're the only clinician. Cliniko's $45 covers one practitioner and states that unlimited admin users and unlimited reception users are included in every subscription, so a virtual assistant or a biller with their own login doesn't move the number. Jane sells practitioner licences and separates full-time from part-time practitioners when pricing add-ons ($5 versus $2.50 per extra practitioner on Insurance Billing). SimplePractice prices additional practitioners at $74 each on its group Plus plan. Before you compare anything, write down whether anyone other than you will need to sit in the chart.

Then count sessions. Jane's Balance plan is capped at one practitioner licence and 20 appointments a month — Jane frames it as up to 20 invoices, covering 1:1 and group appointments or classes with up to 20 attendees. A solo therapist with a half-full caseload of 15 clients a week clears 20 sessions inside the first fortnight. So the honest question isn't "what's the cheapest plan" but "what's the cheapest plan that survives my actual calendar," and for most people in private practice Balance is out on that test alone.

The entry tiers side by side

PlanAdvertised monthlyYear oneYear twoThe catch for a solo therapist
Cliniko, 1 practitioner$45$540$540SMS is 10¢ per message on top; feature list not shown on the pricing page
SimplePractice Starter$49 ($24.50 for 3 months)$514.50$588Pricing page shows no feature breakdown for the tier
Jane Balance$54$648$64820 appointments/month; Insurance Billing cannot be added
SimplePractice Essential$79 ($39.50 for 3 months)$829.50$948Whether claim filing sits here is not stated on the page
Jane Practice$79$948$948Insurance Billing is a separate $20/month
SimplePractice Plus$99 ($49.50 for 3 months)$1,039.50$1,188Note Taker AI notes are $35/month extra
Jane Thrive$99$1,188$1,188Group Telehealth is $15/month extra

SimplePractice's headline looks cheapest in year one only because of the discount, and the discount has a condition: you have to begin a paid account within 7 days to claim it, even though the free trial runs to 30 days. Starter costs $24.50 × 3 = $73.50, then $49 × 9 = $441, so $514.50 across twelve months. Cliniko charges $45 × 12 = $540 flat. Over two years the order flips — Cliniko is $1,080 against SimplePractice's $1,102.50. A $25 gap in year one is not a reason to choose software you'll be fighting in month fourteen.

What $45 at Cliniko covers

Cliniko publishes one price per practitioner band and says every subscription includes every Cliniko feature, 100% free support, unlimited admin users, unlimited reception users, constant backups and frequent updates. There is no Starter, no Pro, nothing above you to be upsold into — the next number on the page, $95 a month, only appears when you hire a second practitioner and move into the 2-to-5 band. The trial is 30 days. The only metered extra shown is SMS at 10¢ per message, so a hundred appointment reminders a month is $10 on top of the $45. What the pricing page does not do is list those features by name, so "every feature" is a claim you should test in the trial rather than take on faith — specifically for video sessions and, if you're in the US, for claim submission.

Is SimplePractice's $49 Starter enough?

You cannot tell from the pricing page, and that's the finding. SimplePractice shows three solo tiers — Starter $49, Essential $79, Plus $99 — with a "See all features" link under each and no feature comparison on the page itself. Something separates a $49 plan from a $99 plan, and for a therapist the two candidates are always telehealth video and insurance claim filing. Open that link and search it for both words before you pay, because the difference between Starter and Plus is $50 a month, or $600 a year, and buying the wrong end of that range is the expensive mistake here.

Budget for add-ons separately, because SimplePractice sells them per feature. Note Taker, which transcribes and drafts progress notes, is $35 a month ($17.50 during the promo) on top of whatever tier you're on — Plus plus Note Taker is $134 a month, $1,608 a year. Insurance Navigator, the billing-support product, is marked coming soon at $1.79 per claim after a 30-day free window, so if that's your billing path it's metered by volume: 60 claims a month is $107.40. Price your own claim count against a flat-fee alternative before you commit.

Why Jane's $54 plan probably isn't your plan

Balance at $54 a month is a one-practitioner, 20-appointment plan. At the cap that's $2.70 an appointment, which is fine — until session 21, which you simply cannot book. Jane's own page describes it as a fit for people seeing fewer than 20 appointments a month. Worse for anyone taking insurance: the Insurance Billing add-on, at $20 a month, can only be added to the Practice and Thrive plans. There is no path from $54 to eligibility checks and claim filing without changing plans first, so if you bill insurance, treat Balance as though it doesn't exist.

The realistic Jane number for an insurance-taking solo therapist is Practice at $79 plus Insurance Billing at $20 — $99 a month, $1,188 a year, which is the same monthly figure as Thrive without billing. Add-ons stack from there: AI Scribe is $15 per opted-in practitioner per month for unlimited notes (5 notes free), and Group Telehealth is $15 per opted-in practitioner for sessions with up to 15 participants, which is what you'd need for couples and family work on video. Jane also publishes its card rates — 2.85% + $0.25 online, 2.6% + $0.10 in person — which the other two pricing pages don't.

Which one to pick

- If you're cash-pay or superbill-only, take Cliniko at $45 a month, $540 a year, because it's the only one of the three with no tier above you to be upsold into and no per-seat charge for the assistant who books your clients — then confirm telehealth is in the feature set during the 30-day trial.

- If you file claims yourself and want a price you can verify today, the number to beat is Jane Practice plus Insurance Billing: $79 + $20 = $99 a month, $1,188 a year. Then open SimplePractice's Essential feature list — if claim filing is in there, $79 a month is $948 a year and it wins by $240.

- If you're two months into practice and genuinely under 20 sessions a month, Jane Balance at $54 is defensible — but put the date you expect to hit 20 appointments in your calendar now, because that's the day you move to Practice at $79 and your software cost jumps 46%.

- If AI progress notes are the reason you're buying software at all, compare Jane Thrive plus AI Scribe at $99 + $15 = $114 a month against SimplePractice Plus plus Note Taker at $99 + $35 = $134 a month. Same headline price, $240 a year apart once the notes tool is on.

Check these before you put a card in

- Open SimplePractice's "See all features" link on the Starter column and search the page for "telehealth" and "claims" — the pricing page alone will not tell you whether $49 does the two jobs you need.

- Ask Cliniko support in writing whether video telehealth and US insurance claim submission are inside "every Cliniko feature" at the $45 tier, since the page asserts completeness without enumerating it.

- Ask Jane whether one-to-one telehealth is included in Balance, Practice and Thrive, or whether video sessions require the $15 Group Telehealth add-on — the pricing page only prices the group version.

- Get the card processing rate for whichever vendor you choose in writing. Jane publishes 2.85% + $0.25 online and 2.6% + $0.10 in person; at 60 sessions a month billed at $150, that's roughly $271 a month in fees, which dwarfs the subscription.

- Confirm a signed HIPAA business associate agreement is available on the entry tier you're buying, not only on the top plan, and diary the date SimplePractice's three-month discount ends so the jump to $49, $79 or $99 isn't a surprise.

What we'd do

Start the Cliniko trial and a SimplePractice trial on the same day — both are free for 30 days, and both cost you nothing but an afternoon. If you're cash-pay, we'd sign with Cliniko at $45 and stop shopping: $540 a year, unlimited admin logins, one price with nothing withheld for a higher tier. If you bill insurance, we would not buy on headline price at all — we'd confirm which SimplePractice tier includes claim filing, and if that answer is Essential at $79, take it over Jane Practice plus Insurance Billing at $99 and bank the $240 a year. Skip Jane Balance unless your caseload is genuinely under 20 sessions a month and always will be.

How we researched this

Loistrofi does not take vendor briefings or speak to sales teams. Every figure here comes from a page the vendor publishes itself, checked on Sep 2, 2026. Where a number could not be confirmed at source, it is marked rather than smoothed over.

What we could not verify

  • SimplePractice's pricing page lists Starter, Essential and Plus with prices but no feature comparison; we could not confirm which tier includes telehealth video or insurance claim filing, because that detail sits behind a "See all features" link.
  • Cliniko states that every subscription includes every Cliniko feature but does not enumerate them on the pricing page; we could not confirm that telehealth video or US insurance claim submission are among them.
  • Jane's pricing page prices a Group Telehealth add-on at $15 per opted-in practitioner but does not state whether one-to-one telehealth is included in the Balance, Practice or Thrive plans.
  • None of the three pricing pages showed an annual prepayment discount; all figures in this guide are monthly prices as published.
  • Jane publishes card processing rates of 2.85% + $0.25 online and 2.6% + $0.10 in person. The SimplePractice and Cliniko pricing pages did not show payment processing rates.
  • HIPAA compliance and business associate agreements are not mentioned on any of the three pricing pages; Jane's page lists PIPEDA, GDPR, SOC 2 and 256-bit encryption but not HIPAA.
  • Cliniko and SimplePractice both state a 30-day free trial. Jane's pricing page did not state a trial length.
  • Jane's definition of a full-time versus part-time practitioner, which changes add-on pricing, was not stated on the pricing page.
  • SimplePractice's Insurance Navigator is marked "coming soon" at $1.79 per claim; no availability date was given.
  • We did not contact any of these vendors. Loistrofi does not take briefings or speak to sales teams, so every figure here comes from the public pricing pages linked in each row.
Common questions
What is the cheapest practice management software for a solo therapist?
Cliniko publishes the lowest price of the three we checked: $45 a month for one practitioner, or $540 a year, with every Cliniko feature, unlimited admin users and unlimited reception users included at that price. SimplePractice Starter is $49 a month at standard pricing, discounted to $24.50 a month for the first three months. Jane's Balance plan is $54 a month but is limited to one practitioner licence and 20 appointments per month, which makes it unsuitable for most established caseloads.
Does the cheapest plan include telehealth?
We could not confirm this from the pricing pages. Cliniko states every subscription includes every Cliniko feature but does not list them by name. SimplePractice shows Starter at $49, Essential at $79 and Plus at $99 with the feature comparison behind a "See all features" link that isn't on the pricing page. Jane prices a Group Telehealth add-on at $15 per opted-in practitioner per month for sessions up to 15 participants, but does not state on the pricing page whether one-to-one video is included in the base plans. Verify before paying.
Can I file insurance claims on the cheapest tier?
Not on Jane's cheapest plan. Jane's Insurance Billing add-on costs $20 a month and can only be added to the Practice ($79) and Thrive ($99) plans, not to Balance ($54). The cheapest Jane path to eligibility checks and claim filing is therefore $79 + $20 = $99 a month, or $1,188 a year. SimplePractice's pricing page does not say which of its three tiers includes claim filing; it does list an Insurance Navigator product, marked coming soon, priced at $1.79 per claim after a 30-day free period.
How much does SimplePractice cost after the discount ends?
The discount is 50% off for three months, then standard pricing: Starter reverts from $24.50 to $49 a month, Essential from $39.50 to $79, and Plus from $49.50 to $99. Year one on Starter is $24.50 × 3 plus $49 × 9, which is $514.50; year two is $588. To claim the discount you must begin a paid account within 7 days, even though the free trial itself runs to 30 days. If you use the full trial instead, you pay standard pricing when it ends.
Is Jane's $54 Balance plan enough for a full private practice?
No. Balance is limited to one practitioner licence and 20 appointments per month — Jane describes it as up to 20 invoices, covering one-to-one and group appointments or classes with up to 20 attendees. A therapist seeing 15 clients a week passes 20 sessions in under a fortnight. Balance also cannot take the Insurance Billing add-on. Treat it as a plan for someone in their first few months of practice, and plan for the move to Practice at $79 a month.
Do I pay extra for an assistant or biller to have a login?
Not with Cliniko. Its pricing page states that all subscriptions include unlimited admin users and unlimited reception users, so the $45 single-practitioner price covers non-clinical staff logins. Jane and SimplePractice both price by practitioner: SimplePractice lists additional practitioners at $74 a month each on its group Plus plan, and Jane distinguishes full-time from part-time practitioners when pricing add-ons, charging $5 per additional full-time and $2.50 per additional part-time practitioner on Insurance Billing. We could not confirm how either vendor treats non-clinical admin logins.
What do AI progress notes cost on top of the subscription?
SimplePractice sells Note Taker, which transcribes and drafts therapy notes, at $35 a month ($17.50 during the 50%-off promotional period); it is also included with the Care Aide suite at $59 a month for the account owner. Jane sells AI Scribe at $15 per opted-in practitioner per month for unlimited notes, with 5 free notes to try it. On matching $99 top tiers, that's $134 a month with SimplePractice Plus plus Note Taker versus $114 a month with Jane Thrive plus AI Scribe — a $240 difference over a year.
Keep Reading