What it really costs to switch field service software in month seven
The subscription you leave behind is usually the smallest line. Here is the arithmetic on stranded annual prepay, overlapping months, seat jumps and card fees, using only prices the three vendors publish.
Loistrofi Editorial — Sep 6, 2026 — 8 min read
Leaving mid-year costs you the unused part of whatever you prepaid, plus the weeks you run both systems, plus re-keying labour. On Jobber's Grow plan at $229/mo billed annually, walking away in month seven strands $1,145. Six weeks of overlap with Housecall Pro Essentials at $149/mo adds about $567. The new subscription is the part you already budgeted for.
Count your seats and your monthly job volume first
Jobber and Housecall Pro sell you seats. ServiceM8 sells you jobs. Until you have both numbers written down, no two prices on these pages are comparable. Jobber defines a user as anyone who accesses your account at the office or in the field to view or manage the team's schedule — that includes the bookkeeper who logs in twice a month and the apprentice who only opens the app to close a work order. Count those people. Most crews undercount by two.
Then count jobs, not customers. ServiceM8's paid tiers are capped at 50, 150, 500 and 1,500+ new jobs per month, and its free plan stops at 30. If you run recurring maintenance visits, each visit may be a job. A five-person plumbing outfit doing three calls per tech per day is well past 150 a month, which puts you in a different tier than your headcount would suggest.
One more number: how many months are left on what you already paid. That figure decides whether you move now or in March.
What the three pages charge today
Vendor and plan
Seats included
No commitment
Billed annually
Annual total
Housecall Pro Basic
Not stated on page
$79/mo
$59/mo
$708
Housecall Pro Essentials
5
$189/mo
$149/mo
$1,788
Housecall Pro top tier
8
$329/mo
$299/mo
$3,588
Jobber Core
1
$49/mo
$29/mo
$348
Jobber Connect
5
$199/mo
$149/mo
$1,788
Jobber Grow
5
$299/mo
$229/mo
$2,748
Jobber Plus
5
$499/mo
$399/mo
$4,788
ServiceM8 Free
1, 30 jobs/mo
$0
$0
$0
ServiceM8 paid tiers
Unlimited users
Not published on the page we fetched
Not published
—
Extra seats: Jobber charges $29/mo per user beyond the included count. Housecall Pro charges $100/mo per user above five on Essentials, and $75/mo per user above eight on its top tier.
If you're on Jobber and thinking about leaving
Jobber publishes three billing tracks for every plan, and the middle one is where mid-year switchers get stuck. Grow with five users is $299/mo with no commitment, $259/mo on a one-year commitment, and $229/mo billed annually. The one-year track saves you $40/mo — $480 over twelve months — while the annual prepay saves $70/mo, or $840. So the middle track ties you up for a full year and hands back a little over half the discount. If you are already unsure about the platform, that is the worst of the three positions to be in.
The prepaid track is cheapest and hardest to exit. Grow at $229/mo billed annually is $2,748 for the year. Decide to move in month seven and five months remain: $229 × 5 = $1,145 already out the door. The pricing page does not state whether unused months are refunded, credited or forfeited, so ask before you assume. The no-commitment track at $299/mo costs $840 more a year but lets you stop on any month, which is worth paying for during a year you might change platforms.
If you're moving to Housecall Pro and you have six people
Essentials is $149/mo billed annually with five users included, or $1,788 a year. The sixth person costs $100/mo, taking you to $249/mo. The seventh takes you to $349/mo — which is more than the top tier at $299/mo, and that tier includes eight users with further seats at $75/mo. So the moment you hire a sixth field tech, reprice the whole account: you are $50/mo away from a plan with three more seats in it and a lower marginal seat rate.
Compare that to Jobber, where every extra seat is $29/mo regardless of plan. Going from five to six users costs $348 a year on Jobber Grow and $1,200 a year on Housecall Pro Essentials. If your headcount moves around seasonally — you add two people for the summer — that gap is the number to model, not the headline price. Housecall Pro's monthly track is $189/mo for Essentials against $149/mo annually, so keeping the flexibility to leave costs $480 a year.
When ServiceM8 is the cheap exit
ServiceM8 states plainly that there are no lock-ins, that you can upgrade and downgrade at any time, and that credit from your previous plan goes toward the new one pro rata. It also does not charge per user: the only plan that caps logins is the free one, at one user and 30 jobs per month. For a shop with eight people and modest job volume, that pricing model is structurally different from paying $29 or $100 per additional seat.
The catch is the job cap. You buy 50, 150, 500 or 1,500+ new jobs a month, and a busy month pushes you up a tier. We could not read the actual tier prices on the page we fetched — the only monthly figure that rendered was $349/mo, and we cannot responsibly attach it to a specific tier. The phone add-on is listed from $19/mo. Get the tier prices in writing from the page itself before you build a budget around them.
What six weeks of running both systems costs
Nobody migrates cleanly on a Sunday night. Open jobs, scheduled recurring visits and half-collected invoices stay in the old system until they close, so you run both. Six weeks is a realistic overlap for a five-tech shop with recurring maintenance work.
Run the arithmetic with real numbers. Jobber Grow, five users, prepaid annually: $229/mo. Housecall Pro Essentials starting the same week: $149/mo. Six weeks is 1.5 months, so 1.5 × $378 = $567 in doubled subscriptions. Then the labour: if your office manager spends six hours a week re-entering jobs, addresses and price book items, that is 36 hours. At $25/hour it is $900 — plug in your own rate. Add the $1,145 of stranded prepay and you are at $2,612 before the new system has dispatched a single call.
You can shrink one of those lines. Housecall Pro offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card, and ServiceM8 lists the same 14 days. ServiceM8's free tier — one user, 30 jobs a month — is enough to run a parallel pilot on real work for a fortnight without paying twice. Jobber's page advertises a free trial but does not state its length, so ask.
What the switch does to your card processing bill
The subscription is not the only recurring number that changes. Housecall Pro states card processing rates as low as 2.59% and a 1% fee on bank payments. Jobber states 2.9% + 30¢ for online card payments through client hub and 2.7% + 30¢ for payments taken in the mobile app. On $40,000 a month across 200 invoices, Jobber's online rate is $1,160 + $60 = $1,220. Housecall Pro at its stated floor is $1,036. That $184/mo gap is $2,208 a year — larger than a whole Essentials subscription. Note the words "as low as": the qualifying conditions are not published.
If you're deciding today
- If you prepaid an annual term within the last three months, finish it and migrate at renewal. Stranded prepay of $1,145 or more dwarfs any monthly saving you would capture by moving now.
- If you are on Jobber's one-year commitment track, do not renew onto it. Either prepay annually for the full $840 saving on Grow at five users, or pay $299/mo with no commitment and keep the exit open.
- If your headcount swings seasonally, choose per-seat pricing that is cheap at the margin. Jobber's $29/mo extra seat costs $348 a year; Housecall Pro's $100/mo Essentials seat costs $1,200.
- If you have eight or more logins but fewer than 150 jobs a month, price ServiceM8 first. Unlimited users with no lock-in and pro-rata credit on plan changes is the cheapest structure to be wrong in.
- If you are a solo operator, Jobber Core is $29/mo billed annually for one user, $348 a year, and ServiceM8's free tier covers 30 jobs a month at no cost. Neither justifies a migration project.
What to check before you pay
- Ask what happens to unused months if you cancel an annual prepay mid-term. None of the three pages states a refund policy.
- Ask for the data export format in writing: customers, job history, attached photos, invoices, price book. Confirm whether photos and signed forms come out or stay behind.
- Ask whether onboarding, data import or training carries a fee. No fee appears on any of the three pricing pages, which is not the same as free.
- Confirm the exact seat count included on the plan you are quoted, and the price of the next seat, before you sign — the plan boundary is where the bill jumps.
- On Housecall Pro, ask what volume or plan qualifies you for the 2.59% card rate rather than something higher.
- On ServiceM8, confirm what happens in a month you exceed your job cap: automatic upgrade, hard stop, or overage.
What we'd do
Move at renewal, not in month seven, unless the current system is actively costing you jobs. If it is, take the hit and go — $2,612 of switching cost is roughly one week of revenue for a five-tech shop, and a second year on software your crew ignores costs more than that.
For a five-person shop switching now, we would start Housecall Pro Essentials at $149/mo billed annually, $1,788 a year, and use the 14-day no-card trial to run real jobs before the money moves. For eight or more logins, or where seat fees are the thing making you leave, price ServiceM8 first — no lock-in and pro-rata credit means a wrong choice there costs you a month, not a year. And whichever you pick, pay monthly through the migration. The $480 to $840 premium buys you the option to reverse a decision you made under pressure.
How we researched this
Loistrofi does not take vendor briefings or speak to sales teams. Every figure here comes from a page the vendor publishes itself, checked on Sep 6, 2026. Where a number could not be confirmed at source, it is marked rather than smoothed over.
—All three pricing pages loaded today; no source page was unreadable.
—ServiceM8's paid plan prices did not render on the page we fetched. The only monthly figure visible was $349/mo, and we could not tell which tier it belongs to, so we have not attached it to a plan.
—None of the three pages states an onboarding, implementation, data import or training fee. We could not confirm whether such fees exist.
—No page states data export limits, export file formats, or whether job photos and signed forms are included in an export.
—Neither Jobber nor Housecall Pro states a refund or credit policy for cancelling an annual prepaid term part-way through.
—Jobber's page does not state what happens if you cancel during a one-year commitment term.
—Jobber advertises a free trial but its pricing page does not state the trial length.
—The seat count included in Housecall Pro's Basic plan at $59/mo is not stated in the page text we captured.
—The name of Housecall Pro's $299/mo top tier does not appear in the page text we captured; we refer to it as the top tier.
—Housecall Pro's card rate is published as 'as low as 2.59%'. The volume or plan conditions required to reach that rate are not stated.
—Jobber's ACH bank payment rate was truncated on the page and we could not read it.
—We could not confirm whether ServiceM8's pro-rata credit on plan changes also applies to cancellations.
Common questions
How much does it cost to switch field service software mid-year?
Three lines make up the bill. First, whatever you prepaid and will not use: leaving Jobber's Grow plan for five users at $229/mo billed annually in month seven strands $1,145. Second, the overlap: six weeks running Jobber Grow alongside Housecall Pro Essentials at $149/mo costs about $567 in doubled subscriptions. Third, re-keying labour — 36 hours of office time at your own rate. None of the three vendors publishes a migration or onboarding fee, so confirm that separately.
Does Jobber lock you into a contract?
Jobber publishes three tracks per plan. On Grow with five users, the no-commitment price is $299/mo, the one-year commitment price is $259/mo, and billed annually it is $229/mo. Only the first lets you stop on any month. The one-year track is the one to scrutinise: it ties you up for twelve months and returns $480 of the $840 you would save by prepaying. The page does not state what happens if you cancel during a committed term.
What does Housecall Pro cost for six users?
Essentials includes five users at $149/mo billed annually, and each additional user is $100/mo, so six users is $249/mo. A seventh takes you to $349/mo, which is above the $299/mo top tier that includes eight users with additional seats at $75/mo. If you are hiring a sixth or seventh person, reprice the whole account rather than adding seats. The monthly, non-annual price for Essentials is $189/mo.
Is ServiceM8 cheaper than Jobber for a large team?
Structurally it can be, because ServiceM8 does not charge per user — only its free plan limits logins, to one user and 30 jobs per month. Paid plans allow unlimited users and are capped by new jobs per month instead: 50, 150, 500 or 1,500+. We could not read ServiceM8's actual tier prices on the page we fetched, so we cannot state a comparison figure. Jobber charges $29/mo per extra seat, which is $348 a year per person.
Can I get my data out of these platforms when I leave?
None of the three pricing pages we read states export formats, export limits, or what happens to attached photos and signed forms when you cancel. That absence is the thing to resolve before you sign, not after. Ask specifically whether you can export customers, full job history, invoices and the price book, in what file format, and whether job photos are included or remain in the vendor's storage.
How long should I plan to run both systems?
Six weeks is realistic for a five-tech shop with recurring maintenance, because open jobs and scheduled visits stay in the old system until they close. Budget 1.5 months of both subscriptions — $567 if you are running Jobber Grow at $229/mo and Housecall Pro Essentials at $149/mo — plus office time for re-entry. Housecall Pro and ServiceM8 both list 14-day free trials, and ServiceM8's free tier covers 30 jobs a month, which can absorb part of the overlap.
Do payment processing rates change when I switch?
Yes, and it can outweigh the subscription difference. Housecall Pro states card rates as low as 2.59% and a 1% fee on bank payments. Jobber states 2.9% + 30¢ for online card payments and 2.7% + 30¢ for payments taken in the mobile app. On $40,000 a month across 200 invoices, that is $1,036 against $1,220 — a $2,208 annual gap. The qualifying conditions for Housecall Pro's lowest rate are not published.