Loistrofi

 ·  Independent

Automating invoice chasing: $240 a year against the admin hours it removes

Zapier Professional lists from $19.99 a month, Team from $69, Agents Pro at $400 a year. Set against admin time at $25 an hour, the licence is the small number. Your build hours are the real bill.

Loistrofi EditorialSep 2, 202610 min read

Automating invoice chasing: $240 a year against the admin hours it removes

Zapier Professional lists from $19.99 a month, which is $239.88 a year. At $25 an hour of admin time, that's ten hours. Save one chase-up hour a month and you're ahead before March. Team lists from $69 a month, $828 a year, about 33 hours. The licence is not what will hurt you — the build time is.

Count the chase steps before you count anything else

Open last month's aged debtors report and count the invoices that actually got a nudge. Not the ones that went overdue — the ones a human touched. That number, call it your monthly chase volume, is the only input that decides which plan you need. Then write down what a single chase involves end to end: pull the ledger, check the payment hasn't already landed, write or paste the note, send it, log that you sent it, set a reminder to look again in seven days. Six steps is normal for a business chasing under a hundred invoices a month.

Both numbers matter because the two pricing models in front of you charge for different things. One charges for the steps. The other charges for the run.

The two things vendors count, and why the bills come out different

Zapier's Free tier is described as 100 tasks per month. A task is Zapier's unit, and on the pricing page we read today it is not defined in the visible text — there's a link labelled "About task usage rates" and you should open it before you commit. The working assumption most people make is that each step that does something counts. If that holds, a six-step chase costs six tasks, and 100 free tasks covers about 16 chases a month.

n8n prices differently and says so plainly: "Pricing based on monthly workflow executions, regardless of complexity." One run of a workflow is one execution whether it touches one invoice or four hundred. The page gives you the sizing method too — a daily schedule is 30 or 31 executions a month, a job running every five minutes is about 8,600 to 8,900 a month, and a webhook workflow costs one execution per triggering event.

That difference decides the shape of your build. On an execution-priced tool, you want one scheduled workflow that loops the whole overdue ledger each morning: 30 executions a month, forever, no matter how the debtor list grows. On a task-priced tool, cost scales with invoices times steps, so a busy month is a bigger bill. Neither is wrong. But if you build the per-invoice-trigger version on the task-priced tool and your receivables double, so does your automation line.

What's on the pricing pages today

PlanPrice shownWhat that number buysAnnualised
Zapier Free$0/mo100 tasks per month; Zaps, Tables, Forms$0
Zapier Professionalfrom $19.99/moUnlimited access to Zap workflows, Tables, Forms; task quota not shown$239.88
Zapier Teamfrom $69/moTeam building and management; seat count not shown$828
Zapier Agents (free tier)Free forever400 agent activities per month, live data, web browsing$0
Zapier Agents Pro$33.33/mo1,500 agent activities per month, billed annually$400
Zapier Chatbots Pro$13.33/mo5 chatbots, 10 knowledge sources each, billed annually$160
Zapier Chatbots Advanced$66.67/moUp to 20 chatbots, 20 sources each, logo removed$800
n8n StarterNot shown in the page text we readMonthly workflow executions
n8n BusinessNot shown in the page text we read50% off via Start-up Plan if under 20 employees
n8n Community EditionNot shown in the page text we readNamed on the page, terms not given

The blanks in the bottom three rows are real. The n8n pricing page we pulled today carried the monthly/annual toggle, the "Save 17%" annual note, the plan names and a long FAQ about sizing executions — but no dollar figures in the text we could read. Treat any n8n number you have in your head as unconfirmed until you load the page yourself.

Zapier: $19.99 a month, and the number that isn't printed

Professional is described as unlocking "the full power of the Zapier platform with unlimited access to Zap workflows, Tables, and Forms." What the page does not say, anywhere in the text we read, is how many tasks Professional includes. That is the single figure that determines whether a $239.88-a-year plan covers 200 chases a month or 2,000. Get it before you pay. If a six-step chase really costs six tasks, a business sending 80 chases a month is spending 480 tasks — a number you need to check against a quota you can't currently see.

Two more things on that page change the number. There's a monthly/yearly toggle with "Pay yearly (Save 33%)" next to it, and the text as captured doesn't make clear which state produced $19.99 and $69. Toggle it yourself and watch the figures move. And non-profits get 15% off any paid plan, explicitly excluding pay-per-task charges — so the discount lands on the licence, not on the overage, which is exactly the part that grows with your debtor list.

Zapier Agents and Chatbots are separate line items

The AI layer is not bundled into the $19.99. Agents run "automated behaviours" and are counted in activities: 400 a month on the free tier, 1,500 a month on Agents Pro at $400 billed annually, which the page presents as $33.33 a month. Chatbots Pro is $160 billed annually ($13.33/month) for 5 chatbots with 10 knowledge sources each; Chatbots Advanced is $800 annually ($66.67/month) for up to 20 chatbots with 20 sources each and no Zapier logo.

For invoice chasing, ask what the agent is for. Sending a templated reminder on day 7, day 21 and day 35 is deterministic work — a plain workflow does it and an agent adds nothing but cost. Where an agent earns $400 a year is reading the replies: sorting "paid it Tuesday" from "send it to my accounts team" from "we dispute line 3", and routing each one. If you get 60 replies a month, that's well inside 400 free activities. Start there and only upgrade when you blow the ceiling.

n8n: the model is clear, the price isn't

n8n is the better structural fit for high-volume chasing, because one nightly run over the whole ledger costs 30 or 31 executions a month whether you have 40 overdue invoices or 4,000. The page also tells you it keeps a limited number of saved executions per plan, with a storage cap in Cloud and a retention window in days — and that hitting those limits doesn't stop workflows, it only trims history. If you ever need to prove in a dispute that a reminder went out on 14 March, that retention window is a purchasing criterion, not a footnote.

What you cannot do today is compare it on money. Starter, Business and Community Edition are named; no figures accompany them in the text we read. There is a Start-up Plan giving 50% off Business for companies under 20 employees, and annual billing is marked "Save 17%". Get the base numbers before you assume the discount makes it cheap.

Work out your payback in four lines

- Line 1: last month's actual chase count. Forty is a reasonable mid-size figure — use yours.

- Line 2: minutes per chase, door to door. Six minutes is generous for a paste-and-send and optimistic if you personalise each one.

- Line 3: multiply, divide by 60, multiply by your loaded hourly rate. Forty chases × 6 minutes = 240 minutes = 4 hours. At $25 an hour, that's $100 a month.

- Line 4: subtract the licence. Professional at $19.99 leaves $80 a month. Team at $69 leaves $31. Professional plus Agents Pro at $33.33 costs $53.32 and still leaves $46.68.

Every one of those is positive in month one, which tells you the licence price is not the decision. The decision is whether the automation actually removes the four hours or just relocates them into checking that the automation did the right thing. Budget a genuine review habit: ten minutes a week reading the log. That's another 8.7 hours a year — $217 at $25 — and it is the honest cost of running the thing.

The cost you'll forget: your own build hours

Connecting your accounting system, mapping the fields, deciding what counts as overdue, writing three escalating templates, testing against real customers without emailing someone who paid yesterday — that is the expensive part, and it's paid in your time, not the vendor's. Whatever you think it will take, the first working version usually costs more than the first year of Professional. That's not an argument against automating; a $240 licence plus a day of setup against $1,200 a year of recovered admin time is still an obvious trade. It's an argument against buying the biggest plan on day one.

If you're deciding today

If you chase fewer than about 15 invoices a month with a simple three-touch sequence, start on Zapier Free and its 100 tasks, because you will find out what your sequence actually needs to be before you've spent anything, and a task quota is a cheap way to discover you were over-engineering.

If you chase 20 to 80 invoices a month, one person owns the process, and the sequence is fixed, pick Zapier Professional from $19.99 a month. $239.88 a year is under ten hours at $25, and any chase list that long is costing you three or four hours a month.

If a second person needs to edit or even see the workflow when the owner is away, pick Zapier Team from $69 a month. The gap over Professional is about $49 a month, which is two hours of admin — far less than rebuilding an undocumented automation after the person who made it leaves. Confirm how many seats $69 includes first; the page doesn't say.

If your chase volume runs into the hundreds and you'd rather loop the whole ledger once a night than fire a workflow per invoice, price n8n, because executions are counted regardless of complexity and one daily schedule is 30 or 31 a month no matter how big the debtor list grows. You'll have to request the figures — they aren't on the page we read.

If you're mostly drowning in replies rather than in sends, add Zapier Agents. Try the free 400 activities a month first, and only move to Agents Pro at $400 a year when you consistently exceed it.

What to check before you pay

- Open Zapier's "About task usage rates" link and count what your specific chase sequence consumes per invoice, then multiply by your monthly chase volume.

- Ask Zapier, or read on the plan page, how many tasks Professional and Team include, and what happens the month you go over — the non-profit discount page explicitly excludes pay-per-task charges, which implies overage charges exist.

- Flip the monthly/yearly toggle on the Zapier pricing page and confirm whether $19.99 and $69 are the monthly-billed or yearly-billed figures before you budget $239.88.

- Confirm the seat count included in Team at $69 before you promise your bookkeeper and your accountant access.

- Get n8n's Starter and Business prices and execution quotas in writing, and ask whether you qualify for the 50% Start-up discount under the 20-employee rule and how long it lasts.

- Check n8n's saved-execution retention window on your intended plan and decide whether you need a permanent record of every reminder sent for dispute purposes — if you do, plan to log chases into your own system rather than relying on execution history.

What we'd do

Build it on Zapier Free first. One hundred tasks a month is enough to prove the sequence works and to find the three edge cases that will embarrass you — the customer who paid by cheque, the credit note, the invoice on hold. Move to Professional at $19.99 a month once the sequence stops changing weekly; $239.88 a year is recovered by the second month at any realistic chase volume. Skip Agents until reply-handling is genuinely the bottleneck, then use the free 400 activities before paying $400. Only go looking for n8n numbers if your chase volume is high enough that per-step billing starts to sting — and get those numbers on the page, not from anyone's memory.

How we researched this

Loistrofi does not take vendor briefings or speak to sales teams. Every figure here comes from a page the vendor publishes itself, checked on Sep 2, 2026. Where a number could not be confirmed at source, it is marked rather than smoothed over.

What we could not verify

  • Zapier's pricing page, as read today, does not state how many tasks are included with the Professional or Team plans — only that Free includes 100 tasks per month.
  • We could not confirm whether the $19.99 Professional and $69 Team figures are the monthly-billed or the yearly-billed rates, since the page carries a monthly/yearly toggle and the captured text doesn't show which state was active.
  • The number of seats included in Zapier Team at $69 a month is not stated on the page we read.
  • Zapier's definition of a 'task' is not given in the pricing page text; the page links to a separate 'About task usage rates' page that we did not read today.
  • We could not confirm whether the 33% annual saving applies to Zapier Agents and Chatbots plans or only to the core Zap plans.
  • We could not confirm what Zapier charges for tasks used above a plan's included quota, though the non-profit discount wording referring to 'pay-per-task charges' implies such charges exist.
  • n8n's pricing page carried no dollar figures in the text we read today: Starter, Business, Community Edition and any Enterprise tier are named without prices.
  • n8n's included execution quotas per plan, saved-execution limits and retention windows are described in general terms on the page but no specific numbers were available to us today.
  • We could not confirm the terms, support status or hosting cost of the n8n Community Edition beyond the fact that it is named on the pricing page.
  • The $25 hourly admin rate used throughout is our own working assumption for arithmetic, not a figure from any vendor. Substitute your own loaded cost.
  • Estimates of build and review time are ours and are not sourced from any vendor page.
  • We did not price dedicated accounts-receivable chasing tools or the reminder features built into accounting packages today, so this comparison covers general-purpose automation platforms only.
  • Every page we set out to read today loaded successfully; nothing on our list was unreadable.
Common questions
How much does it cost to automate invoice chasing?
On the pricing page we read today, Zapier's Free tier is $0 a month with 100 tasks, Professional starts from $19.99 a month and Team from $69 a month. Annualised, that's $239.88 and $828. Adding the AI layer, Zapier Agents Pro is $400 billed annually ($33.33 a month) for 1,500 activities. Zapier does not publish a task quota for Professional or Team in the text we read, so confirm that before you commit — it determines whether the base price is the whole bill.
Is Zapier's free plan enough to send invoice reminders?
Zapier's Free tier includes 100 tasks per month. If each step in your reminder workflow consumes one task and a chase takes six steps, that's roughly 16 chases a month. The pricing page links to an "About task usage rates" page but doesn't define a task in the text we read, so verify the count against your own workflow. For a business chasing ten or fewer invoices a month, free is genuinely sufficient and worth using to test the sequence.
Zapier or n8n for chasing overdue invoices?
It depends on your volume shape. Zapier counts tasks, so cost scales with invoices multiplied by steps. n8n states its pricing is based on monthly workflow executions regardless of complexity, so one nightly run over your whole ledger costs 30 or 31 executions a month whether you chase 40 invoices or 4,000. That favours n8n at high volume. We could not confirm n8n's prices today — the page we read named Starter, Business and Community Edition without dollar figures.
How many admin hours does automated invoice chasing save?
Measure it rather than assume. Count last month's actual chase-ups, multiply by realistic minutes per chase including pulling the ledger, checking the payment hasn't landed, writing, sending and logging. Forty chases at six minutes each is four hours a month, or 48 hours a year. At $25 an hour that's $1,200 of admin time against a $239.88 Zapier Professional licence. Subtract the time you'll spend reviewing the automation's log — ten minutes a week is another 8.7 hours a year.
Do I need Zapier Agents to chase invoices?
Usually not for sending. A fixed reminder sequence on day 7, 21 and 35 is deterministic work that a plain workflow handles. Agents earn their keep on the replies — sorting a payment confirmation from a dispute from a request to re-send to accounts. Zapier's free agent tier allows 400 activities per month, which covers a moderate reply volume. Agents Pro is $400 billed annually ($33.33 a month) for 1,500 activities. Start free and upgrade only when you exceed the ceiling.
How long until invoice chasing automation pays for itself?
At Zapier Professional's $19.99 a month, break-even is about 48 minutes of admin time saved per month at a $25 hourly rate — $239.88 a year is roughly ten hours. Most businesses chasing more than 15 invoices a month clear that in the first month. Team at $69 a month needs about 2.8 hours saved monthly at the same rate. The longer payback is on your build hours, which typically cost more than the first year's licence.
Are there discounts on these plans?
Zapier's page states that pre-paying for a year gives a discount, marked "Save 33%" next to the yearly toggle, and that non-profits get 15% off any paid plan excluding pay-per-task charges. n8n's page shows an annual option marked "Save 17%" and a Start-up Plan offering 50% off Business for companies under 20 employees. We could not confirm from the page text whether Zapier's listed $19.99 and $69 already reflect annual billing, so toggle it yourself before budgeting.
Keep Reading