Loistrofi

 ·  Independent

Five seats, one AI bill: when a paid Claude plan pays for itself and when free is fine

Five Pro subscriptions run $1,000 a year. Five Standard seats run $1,200. Five Premium seats run $6,000. Here is what each one actually buys you, and the specific work that makes the jump worth it.

Loistrofi EditorialSep 1, 20269 min read

Five seats, one AI bill: when a paid Claude plan pays for itself and when free is fine

For a five-person business, the free tier is enough right up to the day one of your people runs out of usage in the middle of something that has a deadline attached. That is the trigger. Not a feature, not a better model — a wall hit at 3pm on a Thursday. Five Pro subscriptions billed annually cost $1,000 a year. Five Standard seats cost $1,200. Start there, not with the enterprise tier.

Count who actually needs a seat before you compare anything

The unit every vendor bills you on is the seat, and a seat is one named human with a login. It is not a device, not a project, not a shared account. Before you compare a single price, write down the names of the people who would open the tool on a normal Tuesday. In most five-person businesses that number is not five. It is two or three: whoever writes, whoever codes, whoever wrangles spreadsheets. The other two open it monthly and would not notice if their account vanished.

That distinction is worth real money. Five Standard seats billed annually cost $20 each per month — $100 a month, $1,200 a year. Three seats cost $60 a month, $720 a year. If you buy five because you have five employees rather than five daily users, you have spent $480 a year on logins nobody touches. Count the users, then price the plan. The reverse order is how small teams end up on an annual contract they resent by month four.

What five seats cost, side by side

OptionPrice per seatFive seats / monthFive seats / year
Free$0$0$0
Pro, annual$17/mo, $200 billed up front$85$1,000
Pro, monthly$20$100$1,200
Standard seat, annual$20$100$1,200
Standard seat, monthly$25$125$1,500
Premium seat, annual$100$500$6,000
Premium seat, monthly$125$625$7,500
Maxfrom $100/mo
Enterprise$20 + usage at API rates$100 + usage$1,200 + usage

The free tier, and the exact point it stops working

Free is $0 for everyone, and for a lot of five-person work it is not a compromise. Drafting a client email, cleaning up a job description, asking what a clause in a contract means — that is chat-box work, and the free tier does chat-box work. The problem is not quality. It is that the free plan is metered, and you find the meter by hitting it. The pricing page does not publish the specific free-tier limits, so you cannot plan around them; you can only discover them.

That discovery is the whole cost. If someone hits the ceiling while assembling a proposal that goes out tomorrow, the twenty minutes of scrambling — or the reversion to doing it by hand — costs more than $17 a month. So the honest test is not "is free good enough at its best" but "what happens to us on the worst day it fails." If the answer is "we shrug and finish it Friday," stay free. If the answer is "we miss a deadline," pay for that one person and leave everyone else on free.

Five Pro subscriptions: the cheapest way to pay

Pro is $17 per month when you take the annual subscription, billed as $200 up front, or $20 if you pay monthly. Five people on annual Pro is 5 × $200 = $1,000 a year, paid in one hit. Five people on monthly Pro is 5 × $20 = $100 a month, $1,200 across twelve months. The annual route saves you $200 a year across five people and locks you in for the same period.

The catch is administrative, not technical. Five Pro subscriptions are five individual accounts on five individual cards or one card charged five times, with no shared administration between them. When someone leaves, you chase down their login. When your bookkeeper asks what the AI line item is, it is five separate charges. For a five-person shop that already handles software this way, that is survivable. For anyone who has to justify the expense to a partner or an accountant, it is friction that compounds every month.

The $200 a year that turns subscriptions into a team account

A Standard seat is $20 per seat per month billed annually, or $25 billed monthly. Five Standard seats annually is $100 a month, $1,200 a year — exactly $200 more than five annual Pro subscriptions, or $40 per person per year. The page describes the seat as all Claude features plus more usage than Pro. So the upgrade buys you two things: headroom above the Pro ceiling, and the fact that it is one account with seats rather than five accounts you happen to own.

Pay the $200 if your usage is genuinely bumping the Pro limit, or if you need one bill and one place to add and remove people. Do not pay it on the theory that team plans are more capable. The page does not describe the Standard seat as unlocking any model or feature the Pro plan lacks; it describes it as more usage. If nobody is hitting a ceiling on Pro, that $200 is buying you tidier billing, which is a real thing to want but is not a productivity argument.

When one Premium seat beats five upgrades

A Premium seat is $100 per seat per month billed annually, or $125 monthly, and it carries five times the usage of a Standard seat. It also includes Claude Code and Claude Cowork, and includes Claude Design. Five Premium seats annually is $500 a month, $6,000 a year — six times what five Standard seats cost. Almost no five-person business needs that. What some five-person businesses do need is one Premium seat for the one person running long agentic sessions.

Mix the tiers and the arithmetic gets sane. One Premium seat plus four Standard seats, billed annually, is $100 + (4 × $20) = $180 a month, $2,160 a year. Compare that with $1,200 for five Standard seats: you are spending $960 extra a year on a single person's headroom. If that person is a developer whose terminal work and chat work draw from the same pool — the FAQ is explicit that Claude Code shares your plan's usage limits — $960 is roughly a day and a half of their time. It clears easily.

Max, and the one person who might need it

Max starts at $100 per month for a single individual. It sits above Pro on the individual track and, at the entry price, costs the same per person as a Premium seat billed annually. For a five-person business that mostly matters as a comparison point: if one of your people is going to spend $100 a month, a Premium seat at $100 per seat per month billed annually puts them inside your team account rather than outside it, and includes Claude Code, Claude Cowork and Claude Design per the page. The pricing page states Max only as a starting figure, so the tiers above it are not something you can budget from.

Enterprise at $20 a seat — read the rest of the sentence

Enterprise is $20 per seat per month plus usage billed at API rates, billed annually, and you can start self-serve. The $20 looks like a bargain next to a $100 Premium seat until you price the second half. Five seats is $100 a month in seat fees, then every token is metered: Sonnet 5 at $2 per million input tokens and $10 per million output, Opus 5 at $5 and $25, Haiku 4.5 at $1 and $5. Web search is $10 per 1,000 searches. Code execution gives 50 free hours daily per organisation, then $0.05 per hour per container.

Work an example. Five seats at $20 is $100. A month where your team pushes 20 million input and 4 million output tokens through Opus 5 costs (20 × $5) + (4 × $25) = $100 + $100 = $200 in usage, for $300 total — three times the flat Standard-seat price. The same volume on Sonnet 5 is (20 × $2) + (4 × $10) = $80, for $180. Batch processing halves those rates on eligible work. Enterprise is the right shape when you want admin controls — SCIM, audit logs, custom data retention, role-based access — and spend limits, not when you want a cheaper seat.

Which one you should pick

- **If nobody on your team has hit a usage limit in the last month**, stay on Free and revisit in ninety days, because you would be paying $1,000 a year to solve a problem you do not have yet.

- **If one or two people hit limits and the other three barely log in**, buy Pro for those people only — 2 × $200 = $400 a year annually, or $40 a month if you pay monthly — because seats you buy for non-users are pure waste.

- **If all five use it weekly and you want one invoice and one admin screen**, take five Standard seats at $100 a month annually, $1,200 a year, because the $200 premium over five Pro subscriptions is the cheapest team administration you will buy this year.

- **If one person runs long coding or agent sessions and keeps starving everyone else**, give that person a Premium seat and leave the rest on Standard: $180 a month, $2,160 a year, because 5x usage for one seat costs less than upgrading four people who do not need it.

- **If you need audit logs, SCIM or enforced spend limits to satisfy a client or an insurer**, go Enterprise at $20 per seat plus API-rate usage and set the org spend limit on day one, because the controls are the product and the metered usage is the price of them.

Check these before you enter a card

- Open the pricing page and confirm the current free-tier limits in the plan comparison, because they are not stated in the summary and they determine whether you need to pay at all.

- Confirm whether the seat plans carry a minimum seat count before you buy for three people — the page does not state one, and a minimum would change your total.

- Confirm what happens to the $200 annual Pro payment if someone leaves in month three, and whether it is refundable or transferable.

- Check the data retention and training policy for your tier on Anthropic's own policy pages before any client material goes near it; the pricing page does not cover it.

- If you are considering Enterprise, set the org and per-user spend limits in the admin screen before you invite anyone, and price one realistic month at the model you would actually use.

- Verify whether Standard seats can be upgraded to Premium mid-term and how the annual billing is prorated, because mixing tiers is the plan most five-person teams should end up on.

What we'd do

Run everyone on Free for a month and keep a note of who hits a wall and what they were doing when they did. Then buy annual Pro at $200 a year for exactly those people — usually one or two, so $200 to $400 for the year. Only move to five Standard seats at $1,200 a year when you want the shared account, and be honest that you are buying billing hygiene, not intelligence. If a single person is running long agent or terminal sessions, give them a Premium seat and leave everyone else on Standard: $2,160 a year total, and the argument for it is that person's time, not the tool's.

How we researched this

Loistrofi does not take vendor briefings or speak to sales teams. Every figure here comes from a page the vendor publishes itself, checked on Sep 1, 2026. Where a number could not be confirmed at source, it is marked rather than smoothed over.

Sources checked

What we could not verify

  • OpenAI's ChatGPT pricing page returned an HTTP 403 error today, so no ChatGPT plan names, seat prices or free-tier limits appear anywhere in this guide.
  • We did not fetch pricing for Google Gemini, Microsoft Copilot or any other assistant, so this comparison covers only the Anthropic plans we could read.
  • The specific limits of Anthropic's free tier — message counts, model access, reset windows — are not stated in the pricing text we retrieved.
  • We could not confirm whether the Team seat plans carry a minimum seat count, so a three-seat purchase may not be possible at the stated per-seat price.
  • The pricing page does not state refund or proration terms for the $200 annual Pro payment, or for mid-term upgrades from a Standard seat to a Premium seat.
  • Data retention and model-training policies for each tier are not covered on the pricing page and must be checked on Anthropic's policy pages.
  • Prices above Max's stated 'from $100 per month' entry point are not published, so higher Max tiers cannot be budgeted from this source.
  • The pricing page includes a row referencing 'Fable' and '50% of weekly limits' without stating which plans it applies to, so we have not interpreted it.
  • ChatGPT pricing could not be read on Sep 1, 2026 (HTTP 403).
Common questions
Is the free AI tier enough for a five-person business?
Often yes. If your team uses it for drafting, summarising and answering occasional questions, the free tier at $0 handles that. It stops working when someone hits a usage limit mid-task on deadline work. The fix at that point is not a company-wide plan — it is a paid subscription for the one or two people who hit the ceiling. Anthropic's pricing page does not publish the specific free-tier limits, so you find them by running into them rather than by planning around them.
How much do five Claude seats cost per year?
Five Standard seats cost $20 per seat per month billed annually — $100 a month, $1,200 a year. Billed monthly it is $25 per seat, $125 a month, $1,500 a year. Five individual Pro subscriptions billed annually cost $200 each up front, $1,000 a year total. Five Premium seats, which carry five times the usage of a Standard seat, cost $100 each per month billed annually: $500 a month, $6,000 a year. Mixing tiers is usually cheaper than levelling everyone up.
What is the difference between Claude Pro and a Team Standard seat?
Pro is $17 per month billed annually as $200 up front, or $20 monthly, and it is an individual subscription. A Standard seat is $20 per seat per month annually, or $25 monthly, and the pricing page describes it as all Claude features plus more usage than Pro. So the seat buys usage headroom and a shared team account rather than any model or feature Pro lacks. Across five people the difference is $200 a year — $40 per person — which is what you pay for one bill instead of five.
Is a Premium seat worth $100 a month?
Only for someone whose work actually consumes it. A Premium seat is $100 per seat per month billed annually, $125 monthly, with five times the usage of a Standard seat, and it includes Claude Code, Claude Cowork and Claude Design. That suits a developer running long terminal sessions, since Claude Code draws from the same usage pool as chat. One Premium seat alongside four Standard seats costs $180 a month, $2,160 a year, versus $1,200 for five Standard seats — a $960 annual premium for one person's headroom.
Is Claude Enterprise cheaper than the Team plan?
The seat fee is lower but the total usually is not. Enterprise is $20 per seat per month billed annually plus usage at API rates. Five seats is $100 a month before any tokens. Usage is metered: Sonnet 5 at $2 per million input and $10 per million output tokens, Opus 5 at $5 and $25. A month of 20 million input and 4 million output tokens on Opus 5 adds $200. Enterprise is for SCIM, audit logs, custom data retention, role-based access and spend limits — not for a cheaper seat.
Does Claude Code need a separate subscription?
No. Anthropic's pricing FAQ states that Claude Code is included in all paid plans and shares the same usage limits as the rest of your plan, so terminal work and chat draw from one pool. That matters when budgeting: a developer using Claude Code heavily will consume the shared allowance faster than a colleague drafting emails. For heavy coding sessions the FAQ points to pay-as-you-go API credits through a Console account as an alternative to upgrading the whole team.
Should I pay monthly or annually for a five-person team?
Annual saves money but commits you. Five Standard seats cost $1,200 a year annually versus $1,500 billed monthly — a $300 difference. Five Pro subscriptions cost $1,000 annually versus $1,200 monthly, a $200 difference. If your headcount is stable, take annual. If you are hiring or unsure whether the tool sticks, run three months monthly first; the extra $25 a month across five seats is cheap insurance against an annual commitment you abandon in month four.
Keep Reading